Make-Up · Reviews

Favourite Nude Lipsticks

Hey guys!

So as much as I’m a big fan of make-up, I’ve never been a big lipstick wearer, purely because I was so certain it didn’t suit me. But recently, thanks to Kylie Jenner, nude coloured lipsticks (particularly brown shades) have made an overwhelming comeback and to my surprise I began to find colours that actually suited me!

My 3 favourites being Mac’s Persistence, Maybelline’s Velvet Beige and Mac’s Velvet Teddy as seen below.

 

Both the Mac shades are matte formulas, whereas Maybelline’s is more creamy and has a slight glossy look to it. Below are the swatches on my hand.

DSCN0267.JPG

I’ll now go over them individually. Starting with the lightest which is Velvet Teddy by Mac. As I mentioned before it is a matte lipstick and Mac describe the colour as “Deep Tone beige” . The formula is super soft and creamy, and isn’t very drying. I do find however that it really sticks to the lips so I use some lip balm a little while before applying it, and also a lip scrub. This colour is similar to the natural colour of my lips, so personally I think the staying power is good but it’s a little hard to tell at times. This lipstick retails at £15.50velvet teddy edit.jpg

Next up is Maybelline’s Colour Sensational lipstick in 630 Velvet Beige. Unlike the others , this formula isn’t matte, it’s creamier and glossier, so it’s staying power isn’t as great. However the colour pay-off is really nice, and the lipstick feels really nice and moisturising on the lips. I’d say this colour is very similar to velvet teddy , maybe a slight bit darker, however both of these shades are great everyday  nude lip colours. This lipstick is available at boots and superdrug for £6.99

maybelline edit .jpg

Finally we have Mac’s Persistence. Mac describe it as a “Peachy Cinnamon” colour, which is pretty accurate, I’d describe it as a medium brown colour. The photo doesn’t do it justice, it’s a truly lovely colour that definitely makes a statement. It can be worn as an everyday colour, but I prefer to wear it more when I’m dressing up a bit more. The lipstick feels nice and creamy on the lips and I’ve found the colour to last most of the day without a top up! It retails at £15.50.

persistence edit.jpg

So there you have it! My 3 favourite nude coloured lipsticks. Let me know what you think and any recommendations you have, I’d love to hear them!

-A

Leave a Reply

