Rambles · Recipes

Oreo Truffles Recipe , YUM!

Hey guys!

So I thought I’d share with you one of my all time favourite recipes for making the ultimate oreo truffles! These are the yummiest things ever and trust me when I say, they don’t last long before they’re all gone! The best thing is, they are super easy and cheap to make.

All you need is :

  • Cream cheese / soft cheese
  • Oreo’s
  • A bar of chocolate

DSCF3941

1.

I used a single pack of Oreo’s and that made about 15 truffles!So first things first you need to crush up the Oreo’s , this takes a bit of time / will power , Oreo’s are annoyingly hard to crush into fine crumbs! I recommend putting them in a food bag, then putting that in another food bag, then unleashing your fury on them with a rolling pin. However I don’t have a rolling pin and have made it work with both a potato masher and a cup (where there’s a will there’s a way!). I’ve also managed it without food bags but its a tad messier without them. You’ll still have a few big chunks but just crush them down as best as you can.

2.

Next you add the cream cheese! However many grams of oreo’s you smash up, you add half that amount of cream cheese. So one packet is 150g so I added roughly 75g of cream cheese. So mix these together in a bowl, at first this takes a while to mix in but after a minute or two you’ll have a lovely sloppy oreo mess that looks something like this :

20160416_154304

3.

Here’s where you have to get stuck in, grab yourself a small amount of mixture and form it roughly into the shape of a ball. The mixture is quite sticky so you won’t be able to get a perfect circle shape, a circlish blob will work! Once you’ve used up all the mixture, pop the truffles into the fridge to set. I’d give these at least 1-2 hours to set well.

20160416_155208(0)-1

4.

Now you want to coat them in chocolate, I used milk chocolate but I think it’d be cool to experiment with different chocolates! Usually when I melt the chocolate , I use the microwave on a low heat, and do it in short bursts to make sure I don’t over do it. I always remember Mary Berry’s words “Chocolate melts in a child’s pocket”. I then take the truffles, dip them in the chocolate roughly, then pop them back in the fridge to set again. This takes roughly 30 minutes.

20160417_161724

AND VOILÀ!! You can decorate these how you want, but I never get that far because I eat them too quickly! These are always a hit amongst my family and friends, and are great treats for any occasion.

Let me know if you make these and what you think! Or even tweet me some photos!

-A

 

Leave a Reply

