Make-Up · Reviews

First Impressions : My April Birchbox

Hey  guys!

So I’ve always been so interested in the idea of beauty boxes , but never committed to buying one. I was worried about buying one , but then getting loads of stuff I’d never use, hence wasting a lot of money. But I recently started seeing more people buying these beauty boxes from Birchbox. I was pretty drawn in because they only cost £10  (plus £3 postage) and I got student discount off my first box, so I thought I’d give it a try!

DSCN0355(1)

It arrived just last week and oh my word it is gorgeous. The company had paired up with Rifle Paper Company to create the most beautiful box ever! It looks super cute sitting in my room and is a good little storage box, I would have happily paid a few quid for the lovely box alone! Once you open it up there’s a little drawstring bag with the Birchbox logo (also cute and handy to reuse as storage) and a booklet. Inside the booklet it tells you all the products you’ve received inside your box, what they are good for, and how to use them! I was really impressed by this point because already the quality of this box is above and beyond what I expected, especially for £10. Before my box was sent to me I filled out a brief survey about myself, so that the products I receive are tailored to what I need, that way I’m not getting items that wouldn’t work for me. So inside the drawstring bag I found 5 sample products.

FotorCreated.jpg

Kueshi Foot Care Cream, Beaver Professional Hydro Nutritive Moisturising shampoo, Benefit They’re Real! Mascara, Cynthia Rowley Beauty Eyeliner and Balance Me Congested Skin Serum. As you can see it’s a very mixed selection of samples I received. My favourite product I have received is probably the Benefit mascara, mainly because I really like trying new mascaras and a sample is a really great way of trying out the slightly more expensive brands. The eyeliner was also a pleasant surprise as I was in need of a new one, and this one is super soft and pigmented which is what I look for in an eyeliner.

DSCN0363(1)

The product I’m least excited about is probably the foot cream. I’m not really sure I need foot cream, but hey , maybe birchbox knows something I don’t?  I’m also a little weary about trying the shampoo purely because I have oily roots, and I don’t know if it’ll be too moisturising that it may make my roots look greasy? I’m willing to give it a try though and find out (maybe on a weekend though when I don’t have to see anyone, just in case!). The serum I’m interested to try, purely because my skin seems to live by the motto ‘ go big or go home’ , so it’s either pretty clear, or I break out pretty spectacularly (usually between the eyebrows *sigh*) . So if this serum can calm that down , it’ll definitely be a big win.

DSCN0366(1)

Another cool feature of this box is that if you review the products on the site, you receive points for it. 100 points = £10 to spend on any full sized product! This could be one you’ve tried or one you haven’t but you know you want.

All in all I’m really happy with my box and I’m excited for what my May box will bring! I know that it’ll contain a full size spectrum blending sponge , I don’t own one of these so I’m already excited about that! If you’re open to trying some new products I would definitely recommend trying this, you can pay monthly so if it’s not for you , you can cancel at any time. Also I’ll add a link in below, so if you sign up via that link, you’ll automatically get £5 worth of points , which I wish I had when I started up haha!

https://www.birchbox.co.uk/invite/50pointspresent

Let me know which beauty boxes you guys get and what you think, I’d love to know!

-A

Leave a Reply

