Make-Up · Reviews

Benefit vs Urban Decay : Mascara

Hey guys!

So today I wanted to chat about one of my ultimate make up staples, and that’s mascara. Usually I buy my mascara from somewhere like Boots or Superdrug,  however I’ve always wanted to try out a more high end product,  but I’m always put off by the price tag! I’ve always been pretty happy with my mascaras so didn’t see the point in spending loads more for something that would do the same job.

DSCN0391

However my opinion changed this Christmas, when in my stocking I found a sample size version of Urban Decay’s Perversion, and it was amazing! Now I’m a massive Urban Decay fan, I have all the 3 Naked pallettes, however I’ve never thought to try their other products. Also last month in my Birchbox I received a sample of Benefit’s They’re Real! So I thought,  why not do a side by side comparison?

urban-decay

So I’ll start with Perversion. As I said I received this at Christmas and one day thought I’d give it a go, but I wasn’t expecting anything different that my usual mascara. But ahh I was wrong, I’m officially in love with this! It’s supposed to give you ‘bigger, blacker and badder lashes’, and boy it does. It literally glides on like silk, it’s super black, and only needs one coat to look amazing! It has a pretty dense brush which creates lashes with a lot of volume, that still look natural. It retails at £17.50.

benefit

I’d heard a lot of good things about benefit’s They’re Real! before I received it in my box, so was excited to see if it lived up to its hype. And I have to admit, it does! It claims to ‘ Lengthen, curl, volumise, lift & separate’ which it really does. It has a slightly thinner, harder brush than perversion, so doesn’t glide on quite so smooth, but the brush does create gorgeous,  defined, long lashes. The formula is also super black and the lashes look close to perfect. It retails at £19.50 .
If I had to score them it’d be:

U.D Perversion – 9/10
Benefit They’re Real – 8.5/10

This is purely because I find perversion to give slightly more volume and I prefer the brush. However it’s such a close call! I love both of them and if there was a hybrid of the two it’d create the ultimate mascara no doubt!

Let me know your thoughts!

-A

4 thoughts on “Benefit vs Urban Decay : Mascara

Leave a Reply

