Life · Rambles

Coping with a Burglary 


Hey guys,
I’m sorry for my absence lately, across all social media I’ve been a bit quiet for the last couple of weeks.  Judging by the title you can probably guess the main reason for this. I have had a creative block for a while now however the main reason I’ve been M.I.A recently is due to the fact my house a university did get burgled. 

It happened in the middle of the day a few weeks ago, however I didn’t spot it immediately due to where my room is situated in the house, and the fact I was the luckiest girl in the world and my room was the only one not hit. However I was on a date later that evening when I received a stomach sinking text from my housemate to say we had in fact been burgled. I ran home to find my housemates had both had laptops and other items stolen. You can imagine how devasting it would be to lose such items, especially during the final year of your degree, so naturally it was very upsetting. 

Quite honestly I was very shaken by the whole affair, though nothing of mine was taken. It’s so difficult to cope with the thought that a stranger has forced their way into your ‘safe place’ . Whoever it was that made their way into our house left a footprint on the windowsill and for me that was so disturbing to look at as it made it feel more real. They also clearly left traces from where they had tried to break into our house in multiple different places, which is also something that stuck in my mind, the fact they tried multiple ways to get in. That night I slept only 2 hours because I was scared to fall asleep. Even many nights after I still struggled to fall asleep because my mind seemed to go into overdrive.

I’m still working on recovering from the whole ordeal personally, and I thought maybe writing it all down here might help me get some closure. I also wanted to jot down a few tips I found helped me cope with this awful situation, in the hope that it may help someone else, or the very least help raise awareness for this sort of thing so it can help others prevent it happening to them. 

  • Check your home’s security, especially if you are a student. We were let down by our houses crappy locks, which we immediately got resolved by our landlord. We got extra locks added to all windows so they can’t be opened from outside, and extra locks added to the doors. It’s important to make sure your doors don’t just have a naff Yale lock as these can be easily opened with a screwdriver. A 5 lever mortise lock is what your need. 
  • Take some time away from the house and spend a few days with friends or family. I couldn’t sleep at my house because I was just too scared to, so I was so tired. My friend was a lifesaver and let me stay at hers for a couple of nights and honestly I can’t thank her enough for it. I was able to detach myself from the situation for a bit, get some rest, and have a friend around to keep my mind off of it. 
  • Keep yourself busy. I found when I had too much free time to stop and think, I began working myself all over again. So I made sure I had plenty to do, and if it got me out of the house, that was even better. 
  • Treat yourself. There’s nothing like a delivery to give you something to look forward too. I made sure to treat myself to things to try keep my spirits up, from little things like bubble tea to bigger treats like a new eyeshadow palette. 
  • Give yourself time. Everyone recovers at different rates. I’m a big worryguts as it is, so I took this hit badly. Even a few weeks on I still find myself beginning to panic about it. I’m luckily home from uni for a while now which will help me, but the thought of returning is difficult. 

  
Apologies for this being a bit of an essay, I guess I had a lot to get off my chest. I’ll leave you with this, check your home security and make sure everything is as secure as it can be. Better you find a weakness now than find it the hard way. 

Hopefully I’ll be getting back to my blogging and social media more regularly soon, I miss it and I think it’ll help me keep busy! Thank you all for your patience, you’re all fab!

-A 

Leave a Reply

