Life

How to Stay Motivated 

Hey all!

So as you may or may not know, I’m coming up to the end of my degree now and will soon be graduating! EEP! But before I can get excited about graduation, I have a tonne of work left to complete, not to mention some exams too. So for me right now, I’m trying to stay as motivated as possible for the last stretch, and believe me it’s been quite a challenge. I think many people struggle when it comes to motivation so I thought, hey, why not right a post on it. 

So without further ado, here are some of my tips for staying motivated: 

Don’t lose sight of the end goal

For me my goal right now is graduating with the highest mark I can try get, and it’s important for me to not lose sight of this. There’s a reason I set this goal and if I knuckle down, I’ll achieve it and make all the hard work worth it. When struggling to stay motivated with anything, be it university or school work, job applications, work, even blogging, it’s important to step back and remind yourself of your goals and why you’re doing what you’re doing. You set those goals for a reason, think how great it’ll be to achieve them! 

Take regular small breaks

Did you know that most teenagers and adults are unable to sustain attention on one thing for more than about 20 minutes at a time? Trying to focus for long periods at a time can start to have a negative effect, and can cause lack of motivation. The best thing to do is to set yourself set periods to work, broken up by small rest periods. I find these breaks to really help clear my head me they allow me to go back to my work with a fresh perspective! So take a break, grab a cookie, watch a YouTube video, clear your mind, then head back to work raring to go.

Surround yourself with things that make you happy

One thing that really helps me to work is to be in a nice environment, with lots of pretty stationary. It’s strange but I actually become 100% more motivated to work when I have a nice notebook and coloured pens to work with to make my work look nice! Believe it or not this technique has got me through my whole degree haha! If you’re at home light your favourite candle while you work, buy yourself some flowers to decorate your workspace, if you’re in an office buy some bits and pieces to make your desk a pretty, appealing place to work! Anything to keep your spirits up. 

TREAT YO’SELF

I’m the biggest advocate for staying motivated by means of treats. True my bank account isn’t the biggest fan of this one, but hey if it works, it works! Whether it’s treating myself to a little snack, a takeaway or my 50000th liquid lipstick or eyeshadow palette, I always give myself a goal to work towards and motivate myself with the thought of a treat if I complete it. There’s nothing better than waiting for a package to arrive in the post that contains a treat for me! 

So there you have it, my top tips for staying motivated. Hopefully it helps you lot, and hopefully I can stick to these through to the end of my degree! Feel free to like, follow or leave a comment! Thanks for reading!

-A

Leave a Reply

